sluice boxes

KevinInColorado

Gold Member
Jan 9, 2012
Summit County, Colorado
Detector(s) used
Grizzly Goldtrap Explorer & Motherlode, Gold Cube with trommel or Banker on top, Angus Mackirk Expedition, Gold-n-Sand Xtream Hand pump
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
As a newbie I would suggest you look at something more modern. Those are great gear in their own way but how about a Bazooka Goldtrap instead? They are much easier to set up, don't require you to classify the material (a huge time savings!) and do great catching fine gold. Oh, and clean out takes about 8 seconds!

Hoser John

Gold Member
Mar 22, 2003
Redding,Calif.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Le Trap get the best results,be it big or small,no carpets or insipid mat bs ,lightweight to carry in and holds pounds. I'd post the pic as proof but new owners made a change to website and it won't post anymore???John

ALewis

Aug 20, 2013
East Bay, Northern Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Check out the Bazooka Goldtrap....
As I have as much fun building & tinkering, mine is a homebuilt affair. Really like it though.

I have thought about getting a keene to use as a highbanker, but my little sluice below has run some serious material for me this year, and the setup and cleanout can't be beat.

Photo0298.jpg

A_Sly1_U

Jun 2, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
How is the capture rate on the bazooka? As long as I don't overload my a52 I don't lose much of anything. It will catch gold so fine you can't hardly see it. How's the durability of all the plastic sluices? I've never owned one, so don't take my questions as criticism. My a52 is quite often on the bottom of a big pile of other mining and camping gear. Being all metal it's very durable. In the grand scheme of things the sluice box you pick probably won't make much difference in the gold you get. There are a lot of good products on the market.

Aufisher

Bronze Member
May 12, 2013
The Golden State
Detector(s) used