New to Gold Prospecting any Advise or tips are welcome

rainwolf75

Nov 9, 2013
NW Georgia
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Hello everyone,
I am new to gold prospecting and do not have anything yet but I have been wanting to do it for many years and decided to take the plunge before the end of the year. I do have many questions but the main one is the fact that I live in Georgia and I want to go about it legally and if someone can tell me where to go to read the laws on gold prospecting in Georgia that I can read up on that would be great. Also I do not have anything as of yet but would like to start on a tight budget (my starting budget is $15-$20) and was wondering what I can purchase for that and I have no problem on making some of my own stuff, after all I am all for DIY because it brings a since of pride when you make something your self with little or no money. Below you will see a list of things that I already have acquired or have saved up and was wondering if you all could help me (or point me in the right direction) on figuring out how to use this stuff or turn it into stuff that I can use to prospect for gold.

• (1) 2 GAL bucket (in process to acquire more if needed)
  • (1) 3 1/2 GAL bucket (in process to acquire more if needed)
  • Empty medicine bottles (one with the snap on lid - nothing leaks in or out)
  • Empty eye dropper bottles
  • Small gardening trowel
  • Window Screening

Thank you for taking the time to read my newbie post.

Upvote 0

mcordell

Nov 2, 2013
Detector(s) used
Whites GMT
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Welcome wolf! The most important thing is to do it right, not expensive stuff. Clean out the cracks properly, classify your material properly and take your time to pan properly. Sometimes I just swish sand in my pan endlessly to watch the material float around and work on my wrist motion. Put a BB in there to practice and it should stay, if it pans out, try again. Great luck to ya!

Terry Soloman

Gold Member
May 28, 2010