goldmaps.com worth the money?

outwardjourney

Aug 17, 2010
Has anyone used goldmaps.com, they sell maps that are supposedly complete list of where mines used to be, etc., etc.. I am more interested in the eastern part of the US in regards to the maps. I just didn't know what the maps look like, if they're worth the 29.99 they're charging for them. I mean after all, I could just print maps online, but they wouldn't be of any good quality or anything. Just dots on a state map.

Anyone have experience with that website?

Upvote 0

goldenmojo

Bronze Member
Dec 9, 2013
N. California
Detector(s) used
Bazooka Prospector-Sniper-Supermini Thanks Todd & Chris, Goldhog Multisluice Thanks Doc, My Land Matters Thanks Claydiggins, 6 Senses
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Outwardjourney I am new to prospecting and I too thought about dropping $30 on a gold map. Instead I found an old geology book for California from the late 1800s that had a map of all the ancient rivers and a book with all the mines listed. With that info I realized that I was really only a little closer. What helped me the most was This Forum and searching out old historical diaries and accounts. I would suggest you put the $30 in your gas tank and search for people that are willing to help you in your search such as this forum.... Stay persistent to it and I Hope you hit a many Paystreaks.

Goldenmojo

OP
OP
O

outwardjourney

Aug 17, 2010
Thanks, but I am prospecting from afar. I don't live in the states I am interested in. In fact, my wife is wanting to relocate to possibly Virginia in the future (for work and recreation). We are currently looking at property up there, but her being her has yet to decide where she'd like to end up. My stipulations were based on being in an area where I can enjoy myself as much as she. So, with that in mind, I am investigating areas in the east, not strictly VA.