Need some help. Sc area.

Greygc11

Mar 18, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have 2 streams that run through my property and have found lots and lots of quartz. I'm new to prospecting. I bought a couple of pans but not sure where to start. Any help is appreciated. image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg

Upvote 0

Aufisher

Bronze Member
May 12, 2013
The Golden State
Detector(s) used
Whites Goldmaster V/SAT. VibraProbe. Bazooka 48" Prospector Sluice. Shorts. Chickens + Goats + Goldhounds. 35' Chris Craft Caribbean motorsailer. FISH OIL + BURLAP
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Be glad to help. How far down is bedrock and what elevation are you at?

Last edited:
OP
OP
G

Greygc11

Mar 18, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm not quite sure. How would I go about finding out without actually digging. Thanks

OP
OP
G

Greygc11

Mar 18, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I also found a nice size smokey quartz crystal. Can add pictures if needed.

loco oro

Aug 15, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
the second pic down on the left, i see those rocks that are exposed look to extend for twelve ft or so,take a digging bar or shovel ,remove those rocks out of your way and then shovel up the gravel,pan and see if there is color,dont be discouraged at the first couple pans if there isnt any,you will probably need some practice panning. but large cobbles and rocks are where to start,the gold will get trapped in the cobbles,and where the flow is depositing the larger stuff ,the gold will likely be with it,as narrow as that run is, picture a straight line going down the run,where it contacts the bends is also good spots to see if it gold bearing.and generaly where you see gravels collecting,to look for color,sand bars will have small gold and if you are just begining panning ,might be tricky getting the small stuff.

OP
OP
G

Greygc11

Mar 18, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting