Gold Cube water flow

CdnSilverback

Jun 28, 2014
Dawson City, Yukon
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
I am just starting out with the Gold Cube and was wondering about a couple of things.
What I am after is very fine gold... 50- and smaller.

1) Would I need to reduce the water flow from the pump for this small gold?

2) It is mentioned to classify to #8... but would it not be better to go down to a 50 screen?

3) I have heard a number of ways to remove the air bubbles in the vortex matting.... but still having a problem. Does anyone suggest using a jet dry solution on the mats before starting?

Thanks

Upvote 0

ywevis

Feb 24, 2013
Albemarle, NC
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
I am just starting out with the Gold Cube and was wondering about a couple of things.

2) It is mentioned to classify to #8... but would it not be better to go down to a 50 screen?

3) I have heard a number of ways to remove the air bubbles in the vortex matting.... but still having a problem. Does anyone suggest using a jet dry solution on the mats before starting?

Thanks

This is what we do when we run our gold cube..

Get the hose pipe and put a sprayer on it. Hit that whole vortex matting with the water jet and rub your fingers in every groove. Sometimes we use jet dri, but not every time. We get tons of fine gold using the pump that comes with it. I rarely see 1-2 specks of super fine gold on the 4 th tray. It catches it all.

Classification, it's best to classify down to where your gold is and run it. We always go to a 12 to run it, and if we in alot of fine gold we go with a 20. I would just add jet dry in the water.

Jonsered

Oct 12, 2009
New Mexico
Detector(s) used
White's Spectrum XLT
1) No. The Cube is set up to run at a certain volume. Altering that will alter your gold capture.

2) The advantage to classifying down smaller is that you can run greater volume of dirt in a given amount of time. It won't necessarily result in greater gold capture.