Howdy from the Kootenays!

Jul 16, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am currently living in the West Kootenays, BC. Nearby, there is a large hard rock gold claim that was originally filed around 1890. It is above treeline. A creek on the valley floor has some placer claims but I haven't seen anyone working them in the 12 years I've been here.
The owners of the hard rock claim are going to be drilling this summer. I have asked for permission to go thru the tailings of 4-5 old mine shafts on the property. The area was originally opened up for silver mining. There are something in the order of 100 hard rock claims within a couple miles. Most would be a brutal climb to access. The area I would like to work is accessible by a 4x4 quad.
I am new to all this. I have looked at a spiral pan and a small sluice. What would you folks use?

Attachments

• DSCN0363.JPG
    DSCN0363.JPG
    878.6 KB · Views: 77
Last edited:
Upvote 0

DizzyDigger

Gold Member
Dec 9, 2012
Concrete, WA
Detector(s) used
Nokta FoRs Gold, a Gold Cube, 2 Keene Sluices and Lord only knows how many pans....not to mention a load of other gear my wife still doesn't know about!
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Howdy Johnnie, and welcome to TNet...:hello:

Is there a water source near the tailing piles? Are you
going to be working crushed material, or will you still
need to crush material to extract the gold?

specksandflecks

Nov 13, 2009
Eugene Oregon
Detector(s) used
Whites GMT
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Pan, sluice, highbanker, metal detector, bulldozer, excavator, washplant, oh what was the question again? Those mountains make me feel very small and that is very awesome. Looks like a nice place to explore. Pick those miners' brains until they run you the heck outa there!

Welcome to T Net and good luck, sounds like you're in a good spot with lots of potential.:occasion14:

Rawhide

Silver Member
Nov 17, 2010
SouthWestern USA
Detector(s) used
Nox 800, Etrac, F75, AT Pro. Last two for sale.