New to Prospecting

scoy

Aug 25, 2014
Orange County, CA
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
My GF and I are heading up to the Redding area up in Trinity County for a couple of days first weekend in Sept, 5th through the 8th. I live in Orange County we are going Up by Hayfork CA

I have been reading all kinds of information and watching videos to get a handle on panning and sluicing.

I have 30 years in the precious metals industry as a refiner/lab manager. All the material I have processed over the years has been from electronics and secondary sources. No concentrates or mining material what so ever. I have used flotation tables, vibratory screeners, density separators, Smelting furnaces, both gas and induction. I have also done chemical extraction of PM's using acids and cyanides. But I have no experience in prospecting , But I grasp the theory of how gold moves and how and where it collects.

I have permission from the claim owner to stay on his property for 2 days to sample and pan and look around. I figured I would shovel and classify some samples from different ares of the claim and mark where I got them from on the map. Run the material through the small stream sluice I have and then pan. He has 2 claims for sale. There are lots of tailing piles from when they were bucket dredging up there.

I am hoping for some pointers from the more experienced members here, any and all suggestions are welcome.

do's and don'ts , what to look for etc... what to do and what not to do.

Last question for now, since this is on NFS land I need a camp fire permit, since this is a claim but not a designated campground are camp fires permitted on mining claims?

I realize I am asking a lot but it never hurts to ask questions.

Thanks in advance

Scott

Last edited:
Upvote 0

russau

Gold Member
May 29, 2005
St. Louis, missouri