Maitland

Mar 15, 2010
Black Hills, South Dakota
Detector(s) used
White's Silver Eagle, Fisher Gold Bug 2
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Hi all,

I've been prospecting for about five years now. A typical day of prospecting for me usually consists of bringing with my shovels, buckets, classifier, sluice, and pans down to the creek and digging through the alluvial/bench gravels to see what I can find. I usually find enough to keep me interested and coming back (although between gas and equipment costs over the last five years, I certainly am not anywhere close to the break-even point with the small amount of gold I have found).

Anyway, I'm kind of tired of going to the same usual spots because I know what type of gold is there and how much I can expect to find each time. Where I go is usually state or county right-of-way land and thus cannot be claimed. The reason I go to these spots is because there's never a problem setting up my sluice and quickly/efficiently processing the material I dig. I would like to start venturing out into the woods and testing more areas and basically try some new spots. However, a lot of the areas I've got in mind have no running water nearby, or if there is a creek it's usually claimed. I'm trying to figure out what my best option would be for exploring some new turf.