new to panning

ramseybam

May 16, 2015
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
im new to panning and prospecting and wondering if anybody could give me some pointer on where to go. I live in Sevierville, tn. I panned for a little while today on the little pigeon river. not really sure if found anything yet. plan on repanning what I brought home. possibly a little flour and a flake or two. any advice on technique and where to pan would be greatly appreciated. thank you

Upvote 0

The Aluminum Monster

Mar 18, 2015
New Bedford, MA
Detector(s) used
White's Coinmaster Pro, Tesoro Mojave, Garrett AT Pro, 5x8 DD, 15" NEL Attack, Garrett Pro-pointer, Pro Series 5x9 sand scoop, 30" Royal Compact sluice, 36" Bazooka Gold Trap, Gold Cube.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
While there are literally hundreds of videos on YouTube on how to pan for gold, I'll direct you to Fred Dodge.

For your fine gold, rub your belly and pat your head.

Good luck and heavy pans.

goldenmojo

Bronze Member
Dec 9, 2013
N. California
Detector(s) used
Bazooka Prospector-Sniper-Supermini Thanks Todd & Chris, Goldhog Multisluice Thanks Doc, My Land Matters Thanks Claydiggins, 6 Senses
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Check out the Panning for Gold section on TNET. All kinds of good info on how to pan. Good Luck.

TerryC

Gold Member
Jun 26, 2008
Yarnell, AZ
Detector(s) used
Ace 250 (2), Ace 300, Gold Bug 2, Tesoro Cortes, Garrett Sea Hunter, Whites TDI SL SE, Fisher Impulse 8, Minelab Monster 1000, Minelab CTX3030, Falcon MD20, Garrett Pro-pointer, Calvin Bunker digger.
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting