Digging dos and donts

utah mason

Jul 10, 2015
utah
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Digging do's and don'ts

Being a newbie, I want to make sure I'm not making any mistakes that get me in trouble with Johnny law.
I see big holes in banks and high up out of river or stream. I have been keeping my digging at water line, or below except last time, material I was digging was out of water but well below high water mark. How much do the rules change from blm, forest service, to private? I've been pushing big rocks back in hole and backfilling. A few different guys on YouTube said too for different reasons, trip hazard's for both people and wildlife. fish get trapped and its the law in some places. Thanks for helping me avoid a ticket and lecture.

Last edited:
Upvote 0

et1955

Jan 10, 2015
Shoreline,wa
Detector(s) used
Equinox 800
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Always fill in your holes, when you finish mining it should look like no mining was done. Remember you are not the only one visiting the area. You don't want some family visiting the area and have their child fall into your hole and get injured, you know what will happen next, area will be closed to mining and more hate aimed at us good miners.

Jimmydolittle

Mar 14, 2013
Hendricksville Indiana
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Check with your DNR, or whomever has authority. In Indiana, it is not legal to dig in the banks. sand bars are fine, ad easy to dig for the most part. Lots of AU to you.
Being a newbie, I want to make sure I'm not making any mistakes that get me in trouble with Johnny law.