Goldfleks

Jan 30, 2016
California
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Whites MXT-300, Tesoro Sand Shark 10.5", Bazooka Sniper, Bazooka Prospector
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
So I'm a total newbie to prospecting but I'm enjoying the nature and the experience.

This was my third time panning in the creek under a big rock and I think I finally found gold, and not mica.

So are my specks gold?

Two are attached to quartz fragments, and the third was at the bottom of my pan in my black sands, and was a nice yellow color and heavy, and didn't flake like the mica I originally thought was gold in the first pan I panned for.

Attachments

• IMG_20160130_145717.jpg
    IMG_20160130_145717.jpg
    354.6 KB · Views: 199
Upvote 0

mytimetoshine

Bronze Member
Jun 23, 2013
El Dorado County
Detector(s) used
GRIZZLY GOLD TRAP - ANGUS MACKIRK EXPLORER- BLUE BOWL - GOLD CUBE, MINELAB PRO 25 PINPOINTER-
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Could be but I'm first thought is no. It does look like some gold attached quartz but this is fairly rare. Can you take some pictures while it's dry?

goldenmojo

Bronze Member
Dec 9, 2013
N. California
Detector(s) used
Bazooka Prospector-Sniper-Supermini Thanks Todd & Chris, Goldhog Multisluice Thanks Doc, My Land Matters Thanks Claydiggins, 6 Senses
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Take a sharp tool and poke the gold. If it crumbles and flakes away it is not gold. If it dimples it is. What part of the country are you in?

OP
OP
G

Goldfleks

Jan 30, 2016
California
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Whites MXT-300, Tesoro Sand Shark 10.5", Bazooka Sniper, Bazooka Prospector
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm in California.

It's fly poop sized flecks so I can't poke at it lol. It didn't write in the pan like mica, and won't break apart, so I dunno, its so tiny.

I'm just gonna go with its gold and pretend it's not just mica or some other mineral lol, and worry about it when I find something bigger another day lol.

OwenT