Googles latest AI doesnt need geotags to figure out a photos location

goldmap

Tenderfoot
Feb 25, 2016
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Google's latest AI doesn't need geotags to figure out a photo's location

howdy all, i'm a newbie gold panner, been doing tons of research, will be doing my first outing soon.

in researching i see tons of people showing videos and pics of them finding nice gold, I assume they assume nobody will locate their spot from a picture or video, they might be wrong. google's artificial intelligence is getting smarter.

Google's latest AI doesn't need geotags to figure out a photo's location | The Verge

now it's far off before we can play with the tech if at all, but it's fun to ponder. and they sometimes give the public access to some of their ai algorithms for pay

i plan on showing most of my finds and where i find it up to a certain point, but I will for sure think twice about showing off a big find in the spot where i found it ;)

(aside, if this post doesn't fit here, just gently let me know, i'll get to dumb newbie questions next, just found that fascinating)

Upvote 0

goldenIrishman

Silver Member
Feb 28, 2013
Golden Valley Arid-Zona
Detector(s) used
Fisher / Gold Bug AND the MK-VII eyeballs
Primary Interest:
Other
Actually if you know the date and time of a photo you can calculate where it was located with a little math as long as you have the height of an object in the picture.

BTW.... welcome to the assylum!

Goldwasher

Gold Member
May 26, 2009
Sailor Flat, Ca.
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
SDC2300, Gold Bug 2 Burlap, fish oil, .35 gallons of water per minute.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
i rarely use my camphone to share pics....use a small digicam if you want to show pictures of locations and keep it secret....I don't trust having the location settins off even if i'm in a no service area!!!!one of the few things I'm actually paranoid about

OP
OP
G

goldmap

Tenderfoot
Feb 25, 2016
Primary Interest: