No digging in banks?

alberg99

Tenderfoot
Mar 9, 2016
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm fairly new at this and I've been a little confused by something. Every video I watch has some dude/gal on a river bank digging or what have you. Yet all GPAA sites, many states and parks don't allow digging in river banks... Okay. So with the knowledge that the gold usually settles on the inside of turns in the river, at the river's high/flooding points, where is the next place to go if you can't go in the banks or am I missing something. I am located in Ohio.
Thanks and I apologize in advance for my ignorance.

Last edited:
Upvote 0

nh.nugget

Sep 3, 2013
e.rochester nh.
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
whites, KEENE A52 sluice, 3" dredge
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Don't apologize! and welcome to TNET! We have a knowledgeable group here. If you have a question just ask. But up here in NH. we aren't supposed to dig bankings either but some still do! What I do is look for gravel benches in the river, move some rocks, find the finer gravels that contain gold (hopefully). If you don't know what a bench is? They may look different throughout the country they basically are where the current pushes up gavel deposits when the river is running high as it recedes it leaves behind strips of gravels outside of the main channel. That's what I dig in.

OP
OP
A

alberg99

Tenderfoot
Mar 9, 2016
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thanks for the info and thanks for the warm welcome!

winners58

Bronze Member
Apr 4, 2013
Oregon
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
The bank itself shouldn't be dug into or areas held together by vegetation, areas that have washed out, gravel bars, toppled over tree roots,
areas that have bedrock showing, any where within the scour zone are all good. usually you can work on the back side of a river bank if you leave a buffer back