FLOOD GOLD, SKYKOMISH RIVER, WA

Thurman

Aug 27, 2014
New Smyrna Beach, FL
Detector(s) used
Minelab Xtera 70
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
The Skykomish river roars out of the Cascade range in western Washington through a historic mineralized area and empties softly into Puget Sound at Everett Washington. Rich, well documented, tributaries add to the gold content in the river. I will be speaking about the river roughly 20 miles East and West of Gold Bar, WA. I have no experience elsewhere.

My experience here is very limited (vacations), but a couple of fine prospectors (you may know them as Magic Mike and Sluice Goose!), have taught me what little I know, which is:

1. The Bazooka will get it!
  2. This is a natural river with seasonal floods from snow melt and then dropping water summer through winter.
  3. The gold available here to the panner/sluicer is consistently small and fine.
  4. Extensive Sampling shows almost NO gold in the stream waters or gravel/sand bars. It would be possible to pan all day behind boulders, in the cobbles, bridge abutments, - all the places shallow and deep normally explored - inside and outside bends, without a color. I know...... this.
  5. YET! Should you find access to a suitable inside bend and work the rocks and gravels up-bank in the flood zone, especially in the bushes and briars, you will find gold and sometimes lots of it (relatively speaking).
Here is where I need help:

1. From what I read here and elsewhere, small gold can be very typical of a particular river (Snake river).
  2. The small gold then, carried by he "bed load" should be fairly consistent through the seasons. Perhaps more during flood since the previous season gold is being added from the banks and tributaries. But "water volume" wise, maybe about the same - if it matters here.