Newbie Intro

Au Chit

Greenie
Sep 20, 2016
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
It appears I've stumble upon the "mother lode" of forums!

Originally from Washington State we've relocated just northwest of Sacramento this past January. Fly fishing/tying has been a hobby for the last 43-years, but after sticking my bare feet in the water and panning for an hour back in August... Yes, my very first pan had a nice shiny flake!

Gold1.jpg

Yes, I am a total newbie with the general idea to finding gold and perhaps it may have been "beginner's luck, but all 3 of my trips have been a success (at least in my book)! Several tools, buckets and three sluices later... I guess the "fever" has set in.

Second trip. Looks like I found a little mercury attached to my gold:

Gold2.jpg

Here's a picture from the last trip to the North Yuba this past week:

Gold.jpg

I have been working this spot along the bank behind the rock in the right foreground and under the roots.

Rock and roots.jpg

We're off on another 2-day hunt this evening. Hope I will be able to post a lot less black in the bottom of the pan!

Upvote 0

goldenIrishman

Silver Member
Feb 28, 2013
Golden Valley Arid-Zona
Detector(s) used
Fisher / Gold Bug AND the MK-VII eyeballs
Primary Interest:
Other
Welcome to the asylum A.C. There are a lot of members from here in your area and most of them are ready, able and willing to help a beginner out. (Which way did you come in again?) Take the time to get to know some of them and it will help you out a lot. All of us have that infection and believe in spreading it around as much as possible! ;)

nh.nugget

Sep 3, 2013
e.rochester nh.
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
whites, KEENE A52 sluice, 3" dredge
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting