Digging holes on the Bear River?

n01d3x

Apr 24, 2015
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am new to gold mining, been at it for a little over a month. I think I've done ok, I have a few grams to show for busting my butt out there for a few 8 to 10 hour days. I've seen these big circles in the river made from rocks. I assumed they were some type of dams. Last trip out I talked to a guy working on one and it turns out they are just moving the rocks and digging holes in the river. These circles are generally in random places, not behind bolders etc. I have a few questions about this method.
1. Are these guys just picking random spots and digging holes?
2. For those that mine this way, how long does it take to start mining the hole?
3. Do you generally work the same hole a few trips worth?
4. Is it bad etiquette to dig in a hole that someone else started?
5. Is there material to run all the way down or are you just moving rocks forever until you reach finer gravel to run.

Thanks!

Upvote 0

kcm

Gold Member
Feb 29, 2016
NW Minnesota
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Silver uMax
Primary Interest:
Other
I'm not an active miner, so I cannot answer most of your questions. If the land in question is public land and has no claim, then you can freely work any open hole you run across. If it looks like someone has been there recently (like within a day or two), then you might choose to be considerate and skip that spot. However, without staking a claim, the land would be first-come, first serve.

I would think that most often, this kind of mining would be done using a dredge. I looked up Bear River and see there is one in Utah. Have no idea if dredging is still allowed there, but I think so. Utah isn't as wacked as Cali when it comes to mining.