What to look for when buying land for hobbyist/family recreation mining?

jdlev

Nov 21, 2016
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi Guys,

Gold mining noob here...well, not total noob, but close enough. Always been fascinated with gold mining...really enjoy the outdoors (especially since I'm an IT guy and have the bottlecap glasses to prove it!)...and never been scared of a little hard work. With 2 small boys, I thought purchasing a small 12-25 acre tract of rural land would be great for recreation, camping, fishing, and you guessed it...mining! :) Only problem is I have no idea what to look for beyond areas that have had a decent stream flowing through them. Now, we're certainly going in with images of 15 pound nuggets dancing in our heads, but I think the prospects for the areas we're considering aren't terrible either!

We live in Concord, NC...which is in Cabarrus County....which is home to Reed Gold Mine and the city of Gold Hill...one of the first Gold Rushes in the US occurred right here in our backyard :) As for mining, I've always been interested in building my own suction dredge to do some stream dredging (I'm a big time tinkerer). Maybe some small equipment to move a bit of dirt, and we'd also consider surface mining. Not really interested in heading underground. So I have a few questions:

1) Where the heck do I begin? Should I just look for land along waterways near Reed Gold Mine?
2) What should I look for in the land? Topographic maps that show valleys?
3) Does the USGS provide any public information like mineral data or historic stream beds? Any other public entities I should consider?
4) Are there any land features I should lookout for that would make the property a horrible prospect for mining?
5) Will most land sellers allow you to test the property for minerals or is it even wise to ask? I know that real estate contracts often have a special section regarding mineral rights.