Moving to CA in about 30 days, trying to narrow down a specific city.

crumbaker

Feb 22, 2016
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I sell computers for a living on ebay and craigslist. I'm ok if craigslist isn't as good of an option anymore. My gf and I broke up in January, and I probably don't have any kids, so I have nothing holding me back. I've saved up some money for this and want to be in the best reasonably sized city (10k+) to be around great placer mining spots.

Time is ticking down till when my lease is up, so I'm just really trying to narrow it down to a few spots to find a place. I was thinking Grass Valley, but any other suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Upvote 0

gldguy1

Apr 30, 2016
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
If your looking to rent get ready for sticker shock around auburn and grass valley. If your looking to buy get ready for same sticker shock. Auburn sra is hands and pans only now on all 42k acres.

Obsessive

Apr 16, 2017
NW Portland, OR
Detector(s) used
XP Deus/MI-6 w/ HF/XF/LF
Tesoro Cibola / Land and Sea pinpointer
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thats cool. Best of luck to you. There are some great little cities in that area, guess it depends on what kind of amenities you want locally and how much weather you're willing to deal with. Wish I had some good recomendations for you but anywhere outside of the Bay area or Sacramento would be great in my book.

This might be of use for you: http://www.areavibes.com/search-results/

OP
OP
crumbaker

crumbaker

Feb 22, 2016
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Appreciate the info, I'm from Ohio so any California weather is far better than what I'm used to. I just want to be in spot where I can mine publicly, ideally at least around a place where you can use a sluice and where there's a lot of gold. Will be renting, possibly a room share situation on craigslist.

Last edited:

63bkpkr

Silver Member
Aug 9, 2007
Southern California
Detector(s) used