Hello from Placerville, CA

P

PlacerGuy

Hello everybody, my name's Matt, and I'm a college student living in Placerville (so named for the type of mining), California (right where highway 50 and 49 cross if you're familiar with the area).

I currently live with my parents on some land that contains a good section of a (mostly) year round creek in a semi-remote canyon. The creek has relatively little flow right now, but in spring time it can pick up and be pretty swift and loud, with sand/gravel bars, rapids, and small boulders (as well as nice meanders and slow moving regions). I was thinking about picking up a cheap gold pan and giving it a shot, but I was wondering what to look for specifically. I've heard of people getting diamonds and platinum in the area as well as gold (specifically in nearby Pneumonia Gulch). I actually have an old metal sluice-box in my backyard which seems to be in pretty good shape, and was wondering if there are any special techniques or regulations for using one? The creek probably hasn't been seriously mined/panned/dredged in at least 100 years, but there is still a small diversion stream that the old timers dug which carries some water in winter.

I can't wait to give it a try. My family is out of town for the weekend, and I don't want to head down there alone (had bear/cougars around lately) or lug around a bulky rifle as well as a pan/sluice box, but hopefully I can get out there next week and give a shot! Any advice or tips you'd care to share? (It will be my first time panning since I was very young).

Upvote 0

Hoser John

Gold Member
Mar 22, 2003
Redding,Calif.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting