Anyone have info on Kodiak Island, AK. prospecting?

wpareig

Greenie
Aug 15, 2007
Pennsylvania
I have been prospecting for many years and love trying new areas and new things. I read an article in one of my GPAA magizines earlier this year (or toward the end of last year) about prospecting for gold on the beaches of Kodiak Island - I think it was called "Black Sands" or something like that (sorry, I lent out the mag. and never got it back, so I don't know if the name is correct or who the author was).

Any way, I was wondering if any of you prospect in Kodiak and, if so, can you help me with locations that produce, restrictions on equipment and things to watch out for.....

I have NO false hopes of finding pounds of gold, I just want to try out some new equipment I designed after I hopefully get the bugs worked out down here in the lower 48 and have some fun. Here in PA. most of what I find is flour gold and from what I understand it's that fine and finer on the beaches of kodiak. I modified my equipment to see if I could do well under these conditions (been working on the modifications for months) and am excited about trying the area before the weather gets too bad up there.

Also, if anyone knows what article I was talking about, what was the name of the article & who was the author?

Thank you for your help in advance.

Jim

Upvote 0
OP
OP
wpareig

wpareig

Greenie
Aug 15, 2007
Pennsylvania
Hi John,
Are you saying it's too late for this year or did they stop allowing beach prospecting on Kodiak?

I'm hoping you mean it's too late for this year.
Jim

A

alaskamanusa