Gold and Friendship

fancythomas

Oct 26, 2017
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
First time poster here, long time reader. Thanks to all (hosts and moderators especially) for making treasurenet.com the virtual trove of treasure that it is.

I am a self taught junior prospector. A rookie you might say. But I can find gold. I have a real knack for it.
I wanted to share this story: Yesterday I went with a friend (20 yrs) who has shown some interest in prospecting for some time. He has never seen raw gold before and couldnt pan a marble out of beach sand, but has claimed a real interest in wanting to try and to learn. Well, I was working on a job and I stopped by to see him. Long story short we took a walk to retrieve my deerstand that i had let him borrow. When I saw that it was beside a dried out flood stream, i suggested that we pan some gravel. two pans, five minutes later, he had a vial of gold with beautiful flecks of nice sized coarse gold, pretty as you ever saw. Instead of being excited about "our find", he basically pocketed the gold and I got the feeling I wasnt welcome anymore. It was a weird feeling walking out of the woods. On that walk I realized how lucky I was that for two small flakes I learned how shallow the friendship really was. He acted as if I stumbled on some treasure that he had long known about. It was just weird. I couldnt help but think that this feeling was an old story of mankind. Two men walk into some lost cavern and find some gold, one man comes out. It was just weird. I cant really explain it. But gold does funny things to people. Or maybe Im the weirdo. I dont know. Thanks for letting me ramble. sorry if its the wrong forum.

Upvote 0

Assembler

Silver Member
May 10, 2017
Detector(s) used
Whites, Fisher, Garrett, and Falcon.
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Thanks for sharing the story fancythomas. Gold can have an effect on some people. Welcome to the forum.

delnorter

Oct 28, 2008
Northern California
Primary Interest: