Is This Gold? (Silver-Quartz w Possible Gold?)

treasurewell

Tenderfoot
Jun 10, 2017
Simi Valley, CA
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm sorry if this kind of post has been made before. But I found this silver-quartz ore in the mountains and a retired prospector told me that the yellow is most likely gold. I found it on a convergence with lots of quartz and schist in the surrounding area, in an area with a bit of history- which makes me think there is a possibility that it might actually be gold.

My question is, does it look like gold to you guys? I am VERY new to this; It stays yellow regardless of the sun/shade and isn't brittle or flakey.

And if you think it's something else, or have any tips for telling the difference better in the future please let me know! :)

Attachments

• 20171206_114623.jpg
    20171206_114623.jpg
    607.8 KB · Views: 148
  • 20171206_115421.jpg
    20171206_115421.jpg
    273.6 KB · Views: 114
  • 20171206_115023.jpg
    20171206_115023.jpg
    719.8 KB · Views: 148
Upvote 0
OP
OP
treasurewell

treasurewell

Tenderfoot
Jun 10, 2017
Simi Valley, CA
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
That's what I would LOVE to know! Because it sure would be helpful to have an eye that sharp

xr7ator

Gold Member
Sep 2, 2011
Denver, Colorado
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, AT Gold, ATX, MH7 (oldie!) Minelab Explorer SE Pro, EQ800
Is gold never found with pyrites? One way to know for sure, crush and pan.

arizau

Bronze Member
May 2, 2014
AZ
Detector(s) used
Beach High Banker, Sweep Jig, Whippet Dry Washer, Lobo ST, 1/2 width 2 tray Gold Cube, numerous pans, rocker box, and home made fluid bed and stream sluices.
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Of course crushing and panning will tell the tale.