Advice for new prospectors on vacation in Arizona

qmikep

Tenderfoot
May 21, 2016
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello, I am new to prospecting/mining, my girlfriend and I are currently on vacation Arizona for the next month or so. We will be camping, hiking, rockhounding and hopefully prospecting. Our only experiance so far has been on the Yuba river in Northern California, and a bit of time at Lynx creek outside of Prescott last winter.

I was hopping to get some advice on other areas in the state that panning would be possible other than Lynx creek? Also, though its a bit outside the scope of discussion for the prospecting section, do any of you Arizona members have recomendations on cool rockhounding areas or ghost/ mining towns to visit?

Thanks,

Mike

Upvote 0

rockbar

Oct 19, 2015
AZ
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
If you are looking for running water to camp near and do some panning, you will be limited right now because of dry conditions. I don't know what specific placer creeks are flowing at the moment. My guess would be none.
However, you don't need to rely on running creeks to do what you are planning. If you have a way of taking enough water with you, you can set up camp anywhere that is open and prospective ground and pan for gold using your own water. This works great for short stints - say a few days.
You will have to manage the tailings mud and it will be messy, so it's up to you whether that sounds like something you want to try. I have used a 15 gallon plastic tub for this purpose. You would want to be able to dig out your tails and re-fill your panning tub a couple times while camping.... so 50 gallons just for panning would be nice.

... and as far as ghost towns, I think Swansea is pretty neat to drive to. There are a few, free, improved camps you can stay in while you're there. I don't know if rockhounding is permitted there.

Get a few books on rockhounding as well as placers of arizona and you will have lots of areas to try.