Question About Legs for GGT Explorer

BenArmstrong

Jun 10, 2017
Madison, WI
Detector(s) used
Garret Super Sluice/pans, Proline pans, Keene A-51 Sluice, Keene A-52 Sluice, Pyramid Pro Pan, Blue Bowl, Gold Cube, GoldHog Multi Sluice, GoldHog Stream Sluice, Grizzly Gold Trap - Explorer
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Hi all,
The creeks I'm trying to sluice in has no larger rocks so I need to build a leg system for my GGT Explorer to set in the creek. I was wondering if anyone has any ideas or plans for a DIY set of legs. I'm not a great engineer lol, and the few ideas I've tinkered around with make me nervous about affecting the structural integrity of the sluice walls. Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!!!

Upvote 0

SRP_KBell

Apr 4, 2017
Galt, CA
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Ben -

We have a stand that fits a GGT - We are in process of restocking our new aluminum version.
Should be finally in stock by June 15th

arizau

Bronze Member
May 2, 2014
AZ
Detector(s) used
Beach High Banker, Sweep Jig, Whippet Dry Washer, Lobo ST, 1/2 width 2 tray Gold Cube, numerous pans, rocker box, and home made fluid bed and stream sluices.
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Your situation is not entirely clear but it sounds like you are wanting to set up your GGT in a flat water creek and that also suggests not much stream speed. If that is the case then using a stand may not be of much benefit (?) since stream speed is probably the main key to getting a fluid bed to operate properly. I'm thinking that your trap will just quickly fill up and, with not enough flow from the tubes to make the bed active enough to do much gravity sorting, new feed will mostly just wash out the exit. Testing will tell the tale though. In any case, good luck.

Last edited:
OP
OP
BenArmstrong

BenArmstrong

Jun 10, 2017
Madison, WI
Detector(s) used