New to the Hobby, Location Issues

Aug 8, 2018
Missouri
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Hello! I'm new to the hobby of gold prospecting and have met two main points of interest which I want to expound upon to see what I can do with them. Namely, these are...

1: I am currently attending university in northeast Missouri, in a region which, according to my (admittedly limited) knowledge of mineral deposition and general geological conditions, is not the most rich in gold or other precious materials. This is okay, as I am also into metalworking and smelting as a hobby, and the broken farm equipment in my general area is more than enough to sate my needs. I also still enjoy the general processes of panning and sluicing, even if the end results are minimal. However, I am interested in knowing if there is anything I can do, such as rudimentary mineral assays of local samples, to potentially learn more about where to pan and sluice in my general area.

2: Due to my interest in metalworking, smithing, and smelting, I am naturally curious about uses for the large quantity of black sand I accumulate over time. I get the feeling that I could smelt it, as the magnetic portions are just finely ground magnetite with impurities, but that requires a bit of investment into some things that my university is slightly wary about me using (as it turns out, smelting as a student brings with it a bunch of legal paperwork). Are there any other functional uses for this slurry that are a bit safer and less likely to turn some legal minded heads my direction? It feels like such a shame to just toss the black sand back...

Thanks for listening! Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Upvote 0

russau

Gold Member
May 29, 2005
St. Louis, missouri