Prospecting in South Dakota Black Hills NF

BenArmstrong

Jun 10, 2017
Madison, WI
Detector(s) used
Garret Super Sluice/pans, Proline pans, Keene A-51 Sluice, Keene A-52 Sluice, Pyramid Pro Pan, Blue Bowl, Gold Cube, GoldHog Multi Sluice, GoldHog Stream Sluice, Grizzly Gold Trap - Explorer
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
My Fiance and I are possibly planning a trip to SD this year and I was thinking about trying to do some panning/sluicing (nothing elaborate) in the Black Hills NF. I was previously a GPAA member and visited a claim that did not turn out. So I was hoping to try some creeks on NF land (unclaimed and not private property obviously). I have been looking on the Land Matters website and it "appears" that there is quite a lot of unclaimed open land. I have never used this website before (it seems awesome though), and being from Wisconsin, I am COMPLETELY unfamiliar with this process. The LAST thing I want to do is be sitting in a creek with my pan and sluice and find out I am doing something illegal! I would hate to trespass or claim jump! Would anyone be willing to point me in the right direction here? There is a lot of "green" area on the Land Matters site that does not show claims, does that possibly include private property? From what I read, it would also be required to check with the BLM to make sure that I have the most up to date info. Sorry if I am asking a bunch of dumb questions, like I said this would be my first time prospecting like this on federal land. Thanks in advance for any help/tips!

Upvote 0

Johnnybravo300

Bronze Member
Jan 3, 2016
South of Gunnison, Gold Basin
Detector(s) used
F2
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
You're on the right path. Theres no other good shortcut other than landmatters for that research, just have to dedicate some time to it.