Is anyone still looking for gold in Western New York?

Butcher78

May 17, 2019
Great Valley, NY
Detector(s) used
Royal Manufacturing 30in recirculating Sluice box.
Bounty Hunter Landstar.
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
I Just recently started panning and sluicing for gold here in Springville, NY.
If anyone in the area is still prospecting pls share here. I would love to see what is being found, how your finding it, where you are looking and how much you have found.
I am running a Royal Manufacturing 30” sluice box. I’m still learning how to pan and I want to start crevicing for gold if I can find some exposed bedrock in my area.

Upvote 0

Terry Soloman

Gold Member
May 28, 2010
White Plains, New York
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Nokta Makro Legend// Pulsedive// Minelab GPZ 7000// Vanquish 540// Minelab Pro Find 35// Dune Kraken Sandscoop// Grave Digger Tools Tombstone shovel & Sidekick digger// Bunk's Hermit Pick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
You are wasting your time. You'll never find enough glacial gold to pay for gasoline, let alone a sluice. Gold prospecting in New York is a cruel joke. Go to Connecticut or Vermont, if you can't afford to go out west. :skullflag:

smokeythecat

Gold Member
Nov 22, 2012
Maryland
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus II
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
There is a small bit in eastern NY, near the Vermont border. Where you are the only gold to be had would be alluvial gold from melted glaciers.

OP
OP
Butcher78

Butcher78

May 17, 2019
Great Valley, NY
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter Landstar.
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
You are wasting your time. You'll never find enough glacial gold to pay for gasoline, let alone a sluice. Gold prospecting in New York is a cruel joke. Go to Connecticut or Vermont, if you can't afford to go out west. :skullflag: