A complete beginner here in the UK.

vasquez109

Greenie
Jun 9, 2019
South Wales
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi everyone.

I have in my possession, 2 gold pans (one large and one small) and a lot of enthusiasm.

I've been watching a lot of YouTube videos and utterly amazed with what can be done with some patience and a bit of skill with a pan. I do realise that I wont get rich in panning here in the UK. And what little is available will be time consuming. Im doing this to get myself out and about and get a little bit of exercise. Possibly, to get just enough gold to take to a jewellers and get a ring crafted for my fiancee!

Ive seen plenty of instructional videos on how to use a pan. Which I still cant do properly after several days and countless buckets of gravel and stuff from my local river. I do realise that there might not be any gold in my river, im just trying to get all the heavy stuff to the bottom of the pan where potential gold might be. Either im terrible at it, or not doing it right. Im following the countless videos but not getting the same results.

Also, what conditions am I looking for when I do start my search for gold. At the moment im using my river which probably doesnt have anything in, im just using it to get pan practice. Ive cut up really small bits of lead which ive added to my bucket of stones and gravel from the river. I cant even find this lead, so im obviously not doing something right.

Ive got rivers here next to hilly/mountainous areas, some of which have fast flowing areas a few miles downstream and a couple of twisty bits. This is very good according to what ive read, but dont want to go there until my pan skills are up to speed. What other geographical/geological conditions am I looking out for?

Ive got 2 pans and a trowel. What other equipment should I be adding to my collection next?

Sorry for all the questions, but Im really new to this and very keen!

Thanks for reading.
David.

Upvote 0

Johnnybravo300