Does a Mining Claim Grant Ownership of Abandoned Equipment?

IMAUDIGGER

Silver Member
Mar 16, 2016
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Last edited:
Upvote 0

Madmox

Mar 26, 2014
I remember someone telling me that if there is abandoned mining equipment on a new obtained claim, the current owner obtains some ownership or responsibility?

Is there any truth to this? Does it vary by state?

Let's just say a previous claim owner left a large grizzly or trommel.

Though I am not a lawyer. I would say the chances of that are very slim of you legally just inheriting them, if you know what I mean. It seems like it would fall under lost or abandoned property law and there would be a specified legal process to take ownership if the owner is unknown or can’t be identified.

Clay Diggins

Silver Member
Nov 14, 2010
The Great Southwest
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
No. Your mining claim only gives you rights to the valuable minerals - not abandoned property or buildings.

Unclaimed abandoned property reverts to the surface management agency's ownership 30 days after they discover it is abandoned. What happens after that can vary depending on what the property is. In no case can the abandoned property be donated but it might be possible in some specific circumstances to purchase the abandoned property.

Of course all that doesn't apply until the agency knows there is abandoned property ...

It would be unlawful to take abandoned property that wasn't yours for your personal use.

I think a smart claim owner could see some possibilities buried in all those "not yours" laws. :thumbsup:

Heavy Pans

rockbar

Oct 19, 2015
AZ
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Very interesting! Wasn't aware of this fact. I was under the impression that the new claim owner would assume some liability of the abandoned structures and equipment lying about. What if this abandoned stuff is deemed an environmental hazard by the feds? Probably not likely, but has that ever happened?