Heavy Metal Prospecting

monte_rivers

Greenie
Feb 1, 2021
Colorado
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi All,

I am a rookie prospector. I have been learning what I can do to not destroy myself, and wrote up a summary that might be useful to other beginners, assuming it is reasonably accurate. I'd like to get your feedback. I'm not posting this to generate hysteria, just want to check if my understanding is reasonable and, if so, pass it on.

Best,
Lamont

*** Avoiding Toxic Situations when Prospecting ***

Gold is heavy metal awesomeness, and it tends to be found with other metals and metalloids, some essential, some harmful, and some both depending on the dose. Handling gold-bearing ores and black sands can be no big deal whenever they are made up of common, chemically stable, or otherwise benign minerals. However, that is not always the case, and many beginner prospectors are not expert mineralogists who know exactly what is in their ores or black sands. Here are some things to consider if you are starting prospecting and prefer to reduce your exposure to harmful stuff. Be aware, not afraid, learn more, and take precautions that make sense to you.

Here are some examples of elements (and minerals and other stuff) that are found in gold-bearing ores and black sands in Colorado:

1. Arsenic (arsenopyrite, pearceite, proustite, tennantite)
2. Mercury (coloradoite, free mercury, mercury-gold amalgam)
3. Lead (galena, altaite, lead shot)
4. Antimony (freibergite, miargyrite, polybasite, pyrargyrite, stephanite, tetrahydrite)

Many of the minerals listed above are not hazardous in isolation. But they can be transformed during ore and black sand processing, and elements can end up taking more toxic forms. Here are some examples of ore and black sand processing activities that can alter minerals: