I want to build a good garage sluice set up.

surfin

Dec 30, 2007
Grayling, MI
Detector(s) used
ACE 250/Bounty Hunter Pioneer EX
I am in a situation where I have time to go to the spots and get the gravel from the right areas but dont have tme to mess with it down at the creek. (besides classifing it done to a manageable size)

Anyhow I am a woodworker and for me half the fun is designing a small system for the garage that the fam can use.

I was thinking 4-6 ft long and maybe a drill pump to recirt the water.

anyone know where I can find some easy plans for something like this? Or any design thoughts?

I know this isnt the best way to do this but it fits my schedule for getting the dirt.

Surfin

Upvote 0

AZ-Mtnman

Jul 25, 2008
Detector(s) used
Minelab
Been at this a long time, and I've never seen a home-made machine work better than what is already on the market. Gotta figure, they've already done all the R&D to even put it out, so if it is that easy to build something yourself that will work as well, why bother? Gotta look at it like this. Can you build your own? Yep, no question. Will it get the same rate of recovery? Not likely. If it would, you'd have your own company if you didn't infringe on any copyrights. You can find plans to build just about anything you want on the web, but most of them are already outdated by at least a century. Did they work then? Yep. Will they do better than what is out there now? Nope. If all you're interested in is finding some gold with what you've built yourself, go for it. That isn't any different than the guys that still build their own self-bows and knapp their own points to hunt with. For them, it's about the journey more than where you end up. If that's you, I wish you luck. If what you want is a better way to process material, you can do alot better getting something already out there. I'd recommend the Gold Buddy recirculating sluice. I've tested all of them and they have the highest rate of recovery. Good luck.