Help with quartz

makton

Mar 5, 2008
New Lenox, Il
Detector(s) used
Explorer II with 10x12 SEF
I just posted this under the prospecting forum but think I might gety more help here.
I found this rock on the beaches of Lake Superior in the U.P. of Michigan.

There are known gold(very small) mines within a mile of my location but I am a newbie and not really sure what to look for
unless it's gold in color.

The one close up is the underside of the rock and looks mineralized where quartz was. It looks a lot like some copper I have bought from the area when I go to visit.

I also collected some black sand from the beach but don't have a pan yet.

There is another pic of what looks like it might be a fossil but I have no idea.

Any ideas/suggestions or directions are greatly appreciated.

Makton

Attachments

• quartz in rock.jpg
    quartz in rock.jpg
    99.4 KB · Views: 932
  • quartz in rock2.jpg
    quartz in rock2.jpg
    107.4 KB · Views: 1,025
  • quartzinrock3.jpg
    quartzinrock3.jpg
    110.6 KB · Views: 881
  • fossil.jpg
    fossil.jpg
    69 KB · Views: 897
  • fossil.jpg
    fossil.jpg
    69 KB · Views: 729
  • quartzinrock3.jpg
    quartzinrock3.jpg
    110.6 KB · Views: 755
  • quartz in rock2.jpg
    quartz in rock2.jpg
    107.4 KB · Views: 743
  • quartz in rock.jpg
    quartz in rock.jpg
    99.4 KB · Views: 740

TerryC

Gold Member
Jun 26, 2008
Yarnell, AZ
Detector(s) used
Ace 250 (2), Ace 300, Gold Bug 2, Tesoro Cortes, Garrett Sea Hunter, Whites TDI SL SE, Fisher Impulse 8, Minelab Monster 1000, Minelab CTX3030, Falcon MD20, Garrett Pro-pointer, Calvin Bunker digger.
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
VERY nice looking rocks and/or fossil! Wish I could put them under my mineral scope! TTC

OP
OP
M

makton

Mar 5, 2008
New Lenox, Il
Detector(s) used
Don Jose,
The pic is the same rock just both sides. #3 looks like the quartz has fallen out over the years.
There is plenty more. Here is another pic of a 20lb rock I brought home.