is there gold flour in this concentrate or has the fever taken over me?

dirtwizard

Feb 19, 2013
Indiana
Detector(s) used
Minelab Safari/Fisher F2/Minelab go-find 40/Garrett pro point
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Hi guys my name is Mark and I am relatively new to the idea of crushing mineral rock for gold recovery. Been haunting this forum for weeks now and finally signed up the other day. Hoping some more seasoned eyes can confirm or rule out if there is gold flour in these pics among the other small particles. This material was all milled from one large stone and there is a lot left of it, maybe 80 pounds. This was the heaviest fine material from about 4 pounds of rock. I have a jewelers test kit on the way for various valuable metals to get a better idea what this is, if anything. I am not sure a test kit will be effective on such small pieces of whatever this is. The material in the bowl pictured is what was left in a blue bowl running low water pressure and has been swept over with a strong rare earth magnet to remove any magnetic particles. I can get an occasional metal detector signal from the plastic bowl that shows up as junk or foil using the fisher F2. I did not resize the pics as they are not the greatest quality to begin with.

KZ6eqE2.jpg

sf2OrFj.jpg

FDOlP93.jpg

The large stone this came from was at the edge of a fire pit for many years. I suspect the majority of the material I am seeing may be arsenopyrite (probably not spelled correctly) but I have read that you may find gold along with that or can somehow leach gold from it. What do you guys see? I am anxious for and appreciate any feedback or questions.

Fullpan

Bronze Member
May 6, 2012
nevada
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
welcome Mark - Just can't tell from the pics, sorry. Maybe another ten lbs of crush will answer the question. I don't think the test kit will help on that small