Got A Rock you Want Identified? Post it here! gimme a good picture or 3 or 4!

Sabre2th

Greenie
Oct 16, 2017
Marshfield, MO
Detector(s) used
Minelab CTX3030
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Belonged to a friend who kept this sitting in his shop office. No idea where it came from, but always liked it. His wife gave it to me after he passed. Weighs about 8 lbs, gray with deep red "veins". Will suck a cheap, weak magnet to it from a half inch or so.. View attachment 1505475 View attachment 1505476

Stumped? LOL

Eu_citzen

Gold Member
Sep 19, 2006
Sweden
Detector(s) used
White's V3, Minelab Explorer II & XP Deus.
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Hi,

I'm fairly new to the world of rocks, but have been showing an interest in them lately and would appreciate some help in identifying two rocks please.

They were both found on the Ceredigion coast in West Wales, one in New Quay and the other Cwmtydu. My daughter wanted to find some 'heart' shaped stones to take home and this is how I found them.

View attachment 1505042
View attachment 1505043
View attachment 1505044
View attachment 1505045
View attachment 1505046
View attachment 1505047

I think they're both sedimentary, but would like to know as much as possible about them please, including the red colouration on the larger rock.

Thanks for any help.

Hard to tell. Could be sedimentary, not familiar with the local geology. If so, possibly some kind of mudstone. (shale?)
The color is from iron-minerals staining the piece.

Eu_citzen

Gold Member
Sep 19, 2006
Sweden
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Belonged to a friend who kept this sitting in his shop office. No idea where it came from, but always liked it. His wife gave it to me after he passed. Weighs about 8 lbs, gray with deep red "veins". Will suck a cheap, weak magnet to it from a half inch or so.. View attachment 1505475 View attachment 1505476

Pictures are kinda blurry. Magnetic due to magnetite. Do a streak test.

Eu_citzen

Gold Member