Clues on Old Mines From Old Hands?

infidelsaint

May 29, 2010
This is a combination treasure hunting and mining inquiry...

Shortly, I will be visiting an old mine site in South America. It has, or was, mined for several hundred years by Native Americans, then by the Spanish using locals as slave labor. A friend who owned the concession and mined it artisanally over twenty years ago is leading me to it. It is located in the mountains in an arid area near a seasonal river/stream bed.

I am wondering about clues that could indicate more than just the main shaft. Tailing piles will be among the first things I look for. However, I am wondering about ancient ore crushers, smelters, and indicators of other activities/openings in the immediate vicinity that might have been hidden from the Spanish. Also imagine there are other things that have not occured to me - I have little or no knowledge of hard rock mining.

Hope some old hands can help out. Any ideas or suggestions would be deeply appreciated.

Thanks.

dave wiseman

Jul 23, 2004
Angels Camp,Ca.
If you do find an arrastra or where one once was,you might want to take it apart and pan out the dirt and gravel..unless it's an historical site.Also the creek,gully etc. where the arrester was/is might have gold in it ..even if it was a year round,seasonal or now dried up indentation.A little downstream,of course.Putting the rocks back in place would be the proper thing to do after your work,if possible/or your so inclined.....and then again if you have the extra money you get infrared satellite pictures which should show traces of past human activity.Very pricey,though.

Last edited:

timberjack

Sep 29, 2013
New Hampshire
Primary Interest:
Prospecting