Suggestions for getting sulfide-bound gold from iron ore?

Mlandri

Tenderfoot
Dec 26, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm new to hard rock gold mining, so apologies if I'm asking a nube question.

Can I smelt out gold from ore if the gold is bound with sulfur and the ore has a cap load of iron?

First run in my first diy cupola furnace gave me a lot of pig iron and cool slag, but the gold content isn't obvious.

Last edited:
OP
OP
M

Mlandri

Tenderfoot
Dec 26, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
As sure as I can be using basic field tests. Challenge is that it's only visible under magnification and only AFTER rock samples are roasted. Ironically, I wasn't expecting gold in this ore, since I didn't see it when I crushed and examined early samples. I had planned on smelting out iron and perhaps the smaller amounts of copper that I already knew about. I noticed the gold after I burned my ore to make it easier to crush.

My first assumption that the material was mica or pyrite. However, the ostensible gold is malleable and passes the streak test. Good signs but not a slam dunk. If gold, then the concentration is certainly high enough to warrant further investigation.

I could send the ore off to be assayed, but where is is the fun in that? Also, I'd want to know more about the gold content before sending it off to someone that I don't know. Hence my question!

azblackbird

Sep 27, 2011
Glendale, AZ
Detector(s) used
TDI Pro, GMT
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
I could send the ore off to be assayed, but where is is the fun in that? Also, I'd want to know more about the gold content before sending it off to someone that I don't know. Hence my question!
That's kinda the idea behind an assay. If the ore assays high enough, all you would need to do is worry about how to get it out of the ground and to a refiner.

OP
OP
M

Mlandri

Tenderfoot
Dec 26, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting