What to watch for going in?

blackchipjim

Dec 25, 2016
ohio
Detector(s) used
bounty hunter time ranger
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
This a call out to experienced hard rockers. I have watched a lot of mine videos and listen to what to look for in minerals and formations and such. One thing i noticed is that some glance over the perils that one may encounter going in or when inside. I know there are a multitude of dangers mining and going into abandoned mines is a big risk. Can some of you give a quick list of things that will keep you out.

smokeythecat

Gold Member
Nov 22, 2012
Maryland
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus II
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I've had some experience, but not tons. Dry rotted timbers will ruin your day. Lack of oxygen. Poisonous gasses in the mines, venomous snakes, lizards and spiders, shafts that may be covered by wood and a little dirt and all but invisible until you step on one, which would be the last thing you do. And many places today wild animals that would think of you as a tasty snack, or even smaller rabid ones.

If you go, take a few people with you. If you can't do that, don't go. At least one has to stay out of the mine to call 911 hoping you have cell coverage there. Always take an emergency beacon also.

Mad Machinist

Silver Member
Aug 18, 2010
Southeast Arizona
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Lots of material on the floor from the ribs and back is a sure fire way to make me evaluate if it is worth going in. Like I said before, I know where there is a mine full of equipment we desperately need but the ribs and the back are seriously unstable.

Rotten timbers will ruin your day. Its rather hard to tell if a timber is rotten just by looking at it. I have some here that look solid but aren't even worth burning for a fire outside at night.