Let’s talk frequencies

Old and Slow

Greenie
Sep 30, 2010
Complete noob here. I’m looking to buy my first detector. I’m planning on hunting coins and jewelry and do a little gold prospecting. I’m looking for an all around machine. I’m a techno geek and usually buy the top of the line stuff. In this case however, I’m reluctant to spend $1000 - $1500 for my first detector. I want to make sure that I'm going to stay with the hobby before I spend that kind of money.

I have been reading as much as I can, including this forum. My understanding is that higher frequencies are better for detecting gold and lower frequencies are better for detecting silver. Therefore it would seem that a detector with multiple frequencies would be better for an all around machine.

I talked with the owner of a detector and mining supply store and he recommended the White’s MXT Pro. But with a frequency of 14kHz it would seem that it wouldn’t do as well detecting silver.

The White’s Spectra V3i would seem to be the best because it broadcasts 3 frequencies at once. The drawbacks as I see them would be the cost and the initial learning curve for a noob.

The Minelab X-Terra 705 also has three frequencies. It’s priced right and I really like the user interface. The drawbacks seem to be Minelab’s recent customer service issues and the fact that it can only broadcast one frequency at a time and you have to change coils. This would not be ideal if you were in a park and wanting to find silver coins and gold jewelry.

Am I over thinking this?

Any insight you all can provide will be greatly appreciated.

leefields

Feb 25, 2008
Lake Hamilton Florida 33851
Detector(s) used
Excall 2 w/Anderson shaft ...
Minelab CTX 3030 ...
Minelab GT
look at one of the Minelab BBS (17 freqs.) or FBS machines (28 freqs.) all at once.......

there is some claim that the Garrett Infinium LS runs 96 freqs...but i am not sure about that...

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used