Xterra 705 vs. MXT/MXT PRO

norbyx

Jun 3, 2012
San Jose
Detector(s) used
Actual: Whites MXT All Pro, M6 and Tesoro Sand Shark

Ex: BH Platinum, Tesoro Lobo, ST & Tejon, Teknetics Delta, Whites MXT, V3i, Dual Field, MX5; DP Wader, Garrett At-PRO, Fisher Gold Bug 2, CZ-70Pro
Primary Interest:
Other
I have no experience in the xterra but I can tell you that the mxt is a detector second to none once you learn it. P

Sent from my iPhone using TreasureNet

LuckyLarry

Dec 16, 2005
Sweet Home, Oregon
Detector(s) used
I had to sideline for awhile, too much quarreling, brand defensiveness, and seeing certain people waging war on others. It got to be too silly for me after awhile..
Primary Interest:
Other
My Fisher CZ70 walked all over the top of an MXT Pro on Oregon salt high black sand ocean beaches, wet OR dry land. The MXT owner knew how to run his detector but only got a pocketful of pulltabs, and no coins.

My CZ found one copper penny token, one brass gas fitting item, several clad coins, and one 20 penny nail. I knew it was a nail but I decided to dig it up anyway.

Inland another guy with a different MXT had it blasting with honks, beeps, and other noises - and it would not adjust to the ground minerals nor all the iron junk in the soil.

My CZ70 ran as smooth as a newborn baby's bottom in both cases, and I found several coins there (a high school track). The MXT is too sensitive, too "touchy" for all around use. The MXT (is) a good detector for finding tiny gold earrings or fine wire silver though.

The lesser of the two evils you ask about would be "a different detector". The MXT works better as a nugget hunter, but the ML is a better all-around machine. However, I would consider a Teknetics Omega or possibly a GB Pro instead, depending on what you look for and where you search, including the possibility of high iron soils in the area.

Hope this helps
icon14.png

LL

SusanMN

Silver Member
Jun 1, 2007
Minnesota
Detector(s) used