Can anyone tell me a good detector for a rookie?

l.cutler

Silver Member
Dec 2, 2006
NEPA
Detector(s) used
Tejon, Cibola, T2
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Stick with the major brands, Garrett,Fisher, Minelab,Tesoro, Whites. As far as the features it depends on what suits you best, what is great for one person may not be for you. Do you like to tinker with adjustments and different programs, or do you like to keep things simple? Also where you are going to search makes a big difference, beach, schoolyards, ghost towns etc. The standard answer for a beginner seems to be Garrett Ace 250, but this is not for everybody, everyplace. Best bet is talk to a multi line dealer and discuss your needs, or at least give us a little more info. Take your time, this is a great hobby and a lot of fun, but it can be frustrating if you get a detector that doesn't suit you.

jlepien

Jan 29, 2007
Same question but I will elaborate a bit.
Complete newbee. Want to start detecting. Would like to keep it under $300.00 and plan to use it at parks, beaches and basically any other place where there might be interesting stuff to find. I have 2 small "helpers" that want to dig the holes for me. I am fairly certain they will get bored with that quickly. I would like to keep things simple and reliable. Perhaps something that will find most types of things fairly easily. I live in Southeast Texas - North Houston Area. I doubt I will be searching for artifacts or relics in the beginning, but would like to find something to keep me going. I prefer interesting things to just coins but will settle. Anyhow, any assistance would be helpful. Thanks in advance. This site is awesome.

RON (PA)

Silver Member
Sep 9, 2004
Pittsburgh, Pa
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Compadre & Tiger Shark
J,