what is the best machine for knocking out electrical interference

Loco-Digger

Gold Member
Jun 16, 2014
Northern O-H-I-O
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
F75 LTD, 1280X Aquanaut, & a Patriot (back-up/loaner)
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I am very please with my F75 LTD SE which was upgraded in Feb 2015. It is very quiet now. I must admit I am not experienced with many brands. My older White's Classic ID also does well in ef areas.

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Due to the various quality of components this would be impossible to pick one brand or model.

TabWhisperer

Mar 17, 2010
Denver, Colorado
Detector(s) used
TDI SL, Equinox800, Whites XL Pro w/tone mod, Makro Racer, Whites IDX Pro w/Bills mods
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
It depends. I have had detectors go bonkers next to power lines and while others were quiet. Still others that went nuts near cell antennas (or cell phones) while other ones stayed silent. You just don't know. Too many variables with frequencies, power levels and machine sensitivities to them.

Detector Wars

Nov 26, 2008
Plain and simple, any machine with off-set frequencies will do the job.

Minelab Explorers can choose between 10 off-set frequencies, I can always keep mine quiet this way. I would say any FBS machine's the same.

Phantasman

Gold Member
Nov 24, 2006
NE Tennessee
Detector(s) used
Nokta Simplex, Land Ranger Pro, Quick Draw Pro, Deteknix XPointer
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I am very please with my F75 LTD SE which was upgraded in Feb 2015. It is very quiet now. I must admit I am not experienced with many brands. My older White's Classic ID also does well in ef areas.