May 30, 2014
Wilmington NC
Detector(s) used
Nox 700;
Past: Nox 600; CTX; CZ21; Excal II; White's DF;
920i Stealth Scoop
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
Since I just got a new excal I thought I would do a few air and ground tests. The results were a little surprising. To begin my tests I charged the battery to the excal and replaced the batteries to the other units. So all new batteries. Then I tested a place in my yard with no metal and no EMI. I have a high end emi detector that I used to determine the EMI. I used a nickel, and quarter clad via air and ground tests. My experience with these units - I have used the CZ21 for several years now, the Whites DF for about a year, and I literally got the excal yesterday. So yea I am a newbie with the excal. For each of tests I played with various settings, especially for the excal since I was new to it. I know how to get the most out of the DF and CZ21 already.

Ground test

For the ground test I used a quarter and taped it to a ruler. The ground at my house is a mixture of sand and soil. It was also damp from rain. It is a bit salty too. I live about 1 mile from the coast and about 300 yards from the intercoastal waterway.

Whites DF

12 inches - Nothing
10 inches - Nothing
8 inches - Break in threshold. I may of stopped but it would of been easy to miss.
6 inches - Yes

Excal II - 10 inch stock machine

12 inches - Nothing
10 inches - Nothing
8 inches - Maybe a very faint tone. Not sure I would of stopped but sometimes I pick these up. In Disc it would null and then ring but then I couldn't repeat the ring very easily.
6 inches - Yes

CZ21 - 10 inch stock machine

12 inches - Nothing
10 inches - Nothing
8 inches - Maybe a very faint tone. Not sure I would of stopped but sometimes I pick these up. It rang as iron in disc 0.
6 inches - Yes