Monty

Gold Member
Jan 26, 2005
Sand Springs, OK
Detector(s) used
ACE 250, Garrett
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Kinda' got away from it since I started metal detecting. I have a collection of WWI and WWII foreign military bolt action rifles and shoot in competition regularly at my gun club. I haven't entered this year, but when I am active I am pretty salty for an old fart. Usually finish in the top five or ten and have won a couple of matches. I shoot a 1916 Swedish Mauser in 6.5X55 Swede, and handload all my own ammo. I have been reloading for all my weapons for about 40 years and have reloading equipment for nearly any contemporary cartridge except the very recent .45 and .50 caliber magnum handguns and rifles. Big boomers don't turn me on and I much prefer the old timey reliable rounds. I even have a WWI Russian 7.62 revolver that is comparable to our .32 long colt. Enjoy plinking as well. I go deer hunting every fall and have never taken a deer with anything but one of my handloads. I was going to try to take a deer with every one of my military bolt actions and did with my 6.5 Swede and my 7.62 Russian, but my eyes got too bad for open sights in the woods. Monty

TORPEDOX

Aug 23, 2007
Payette Id.
Detector(s) used
WHITE'S MXT
I recently began restoring a 1917 lee enfield No1 MkIII, that had been sporterized probably 50 years ago. at least they didn't cut the barrel or remove the sights. just removed all the "military hardware" and cut the front of the stock.
so far I've been real lucky with parts.

ivan salis

Gold Member
Feb 5, 2007
callahan,fl
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
delta 4000 / ace 250 - used BH and many others too