HOW TO - Find Coins Quickly at Playgrounds and Parks

d3t3ctr0n

Apr 17, 2013
Texas U.S.A.
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 400
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Greetings. I am new to metal detecting, but I'd like to share some of the things I have learned in my time using a Metal Detector. I am a Coin Shooter and as such I want to find coins as quickly and efficiently as possible. With that said, here are some tips for helping beginner detectorists score that first coin.

1. Make sure you have your Metal Detector set properly for coin shooting. I use the Bounty Hunter Tracker IV. I have it set for Disk Mode and discrimator set to 3/4 or 3 o'clock position. According to the Manual, this is the correct setting for Coin Shooting.

2. Hit your local Elementary School Playgrounds or City Park Playgrounds. Most are now covered with wood chips, which makes it easy to dig and find those coins.

3. Watch out for false signals! Most playgrounds have metal swings and bars. This can fool your metal detector, so be aware as you sweep your coil, don't be fooled by the metal bars.

4. Solid tones usually mean that the coin(s) is close to the surface, so just sweep your hand to clear away the sawdust or dirt and you should find the coin(s) quickly.

5. Be sure to wear knee pads when stooping down to pickup a coin. This will minimize the wear and tear on your legs. Beleive me, if you don't you will pay for it later.

6. Carry a small garden shovel and bag to carry your booty.

7. Be aware, at playgrounds and parks your likely to find mostly clad coins. So don't be discouraged. This is good experience and will better prepare you for when you hit those really good spots. Be familair with your metal detector and its proper operation and you will have a much more fullfilling hunt.

Good Luck and Happy Hunting!

xr7ator

Gold Member
Sep 2, 2011
Denver, Colorado
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, AT Gold, ATX, MH7 (oldie!) Minelab Explorer SE Pro, EQ800