New to THing. A few questions please

jeffmajer

Greenie
Aug 22, 2007
Hi. I am new to THing and live in Chicago. I just have a few questions if you would like to offer me some advice on a few topics I would appreciate it!
-First I would like to know what kind of experiences I can expect from uniformed authority figures. I plan on starting with a little searching around a few spots on parks and other public property I have been eyeballing. Likewise what kind of experience I can expect detecting in state parks. I got a list of the 52 Illinois state parks that allow detecting. I have no intention of vandalizing any property, and will of course make you all proud by filling all my holes and properly disposing of all garbage. Cook County parks are off limits if I am not mistaken? Who knows about other counties?
-I also plan on doing some searching in some rural areas. (Already probobly have one old homestead lined up ;D) I would like to know what other's experiences are in getting permission from property owners. I posted this topic on the misc. board and got some good replies, but I would like the input of some locals. Do you go through the bother of getting an agreement in writing? What do you feel id the best approach? How about small town authority figures? Once again I have no intention of doing any harm to anyone's property, so of course I would make that perfectly clear. I would of course invite the owner to accompany me. Any other ideas or tricks to get in the door.