kansas chat

LukeTHr

Dec 13, 2005
kansas
Detector(s) used
whites xlt & tesoro tejon whites spectra v3
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I just wanted to get a thread started for general TH'ing chat here in Kansas. I know we have the roll call thread, so now that we know others exist maybe it's time we do more local chat. Some possible starter stuff would be ; When you first got in TH'ing, how often you get out, fav type of hunting, your best find/oldest coin etc.....

I guess I will start and see where it goes. I have been hunting since 1978. My first unit was a bounty hunter tr 550d. I worked all summer to earn the hundred bucks for the machine and to be honest it never was worth a darn. Now I use whites XLT & DFX. Also am using a tesoro tejon, but am still learning it. I try to get out as much as possible, tho it never seems to be enough. between work and family sometimes it is tricky to find free time. Although I coinshoot and relic hunt, it seems I relic hunt most of the time. I have a few early trail campsites and a cavalry camp that have been very interesting.

I do however watch for any opportunity to hunt coins when it presents itself. Especially when sidewalks are being replaced !!! They always seem to have coins under them. Not always in the best of condition as the pennies and nickel get some corrosion but the silver is usually pretty nice. Oldest coin so far in an 1857 flying eagle cent. As for an overall favorite, I would have to say it is the 2 pieces of a ladies gold earring that came from a cavalry campsite.

In visiting with some of the guys that hunted back inthe 70's when things first got rolling for the hobby here I hear stories of all the silver they found. Though there is still some silver around it is getting few and far between. Now the guys I talk to say they have never found any gold coins, so maybe I will get lucky there yet. If only there wasn't so much chopped aluminum and pulltabs.......

diggerodell

Jul 3, 2006
Kansas