Pack Mules - Realistic data

Apr 17, 2014
Tartarus Dorsa mountains
Primary Interest:
Other
I seek the following:

1) What sort of distances per day are know to be covered? I have no experience, but some of you do. Can you share with me the reasonable expectations in the Sups from you real life experience?

2) Would a 'pack service' be willing to haul in your stuff, lets say 4 miles??? then come back for it in say a week?

I think ~ a week would make a fine stay and if water and tent and all that could be packed in it could be quite safe and comfortable, then we could range around from the 'base camp' without the big hike in every day or the ultra primitive camping.

3) $?

Thank you all !

roadrunner

Bronze Member
Jan 28, 2012
Pinal Mountains,Arizona
Detector(s) used
Garrett Groundhog-2012-1st MD.
White's Goldmaster V/Sat-2nd-MD-2013
Tesoro Lobo-2015-3rd
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
First, if a person was walking there mule, walking besides it because it was loaded down and no room for a rider.
Then the mule or Burro would only travel as fast and as long as the human walking it.

Does not matter what the animal could do on its own.
Second, a normal person walking through the supes,there time would be what ever there terrain was.
In other words, it could 2-3 days to get some where depending on the route taken, and climate and weather conditions.
No hard or stuck rules.
And the persons gait or steps.
For instance, me and somero went out just for a few miles, up a wash,easy travel, and some up a couple mountains, and back.
We where at least 4-5 hours.
And this was an easy trek.

Oroblanco

Gold Member
Jan 21, 2005
DAKOTA TERRITORY
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Lobo Supertraq, (95%) Garrett Scorpion (5%)
What is weight limit per good mule?

And thanks!!