Matthew Roberts

Bronze Member
Apr 27, 2013
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
FB_IMG_1620059799917.jpg

Photo of Walter Gassler taken 1935.

Thirty seven years ago, May 4, 1984, Walter Gassler died in the Superstition Mountains while searching for the Lost Dutchman Mine.

Walter Gassler was well-liked by all who met him and a very lintelligent and adventurous man. He was born in Schlatt, Switzerland in 1902. Walter was the only member of his family to come to the United States. In September of 1922 he landed at Ellis Island from Charbourg France. He lived and worked in New York for a time upon his arrival and later lived in New Orleans and San Francisco before arriving in Arizona in 1932.

Walter was a chef by trade, trained in Europe and some of the finest kitchens in New Orleans and San Francisco. Walter came to Arizona to work at the prestigious Biltmore Hotel but also prepared food at the Hyatt Regency, Paradise Valley Country Club and other fine dining establishments around the Valley of the Sun. Walter became a naturalized US Citizen in August of 1940 in Phoenix Arizona.

Walter was actually his middle name. His given name was Karl. He switched his first name to Walter in 1941 because of his heavy Swiss (German) accent and the discrimination against German immigrants leading up to WWII. He always went by Walter from that time on. He said it sounded more American and made him feel more accepted.

Walter learned everything he could about the Lost Dutchman mine and Jacob Waltz. He spent considerable time in the Bancroft Library in Berkley California and other repositories of books and documents, reading everything he could find about Waltz, the Peralta's and anything related to the lost mine legends and tales.