How sure is it that the Lost Dutchman mine is in the Superstitions?

missbuffy67

Greenie
Aug 16, 2008
Parsons, Kansas
A coworker of mine showed me some family heirloom papers the other day that place the Lost Dutchman somewhere else all together. This man was an Arizona Ranger around the turn of the century and a few years later worked as an Indian agent. (not sure if that is the right terminology) He recorded a story told to him by Native Americans about the trail built by the Dutchman to the mine. He also drew a map of the area where the trail is. There is also a detailed description of the location of a mining claim within the area of the map.
I've always heard the the LDM was in the Superstitions. Now I'm starting to wonder. I know these papers date 40-50 years after the Dutchman, but I guess I'm wondering if it's worth looking into. I'm no expert, but there was no indication that any of these papers weren't authentic. As for my coworker, well, he's not capable of faking these documents. He had never even heard of The Lost Dutchman Mine (he called it the Dutchman's Treasure and thought it was in Germany) and had never really looked these things until he brought them to work to show another coworker and me. I would love to hear any input on this.

Oroblanco

Gold Member
Jan 21, 2005
DAKOTA TERRITORY
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Lobo Supertraq, (95%) Garrett Scorpion (5%)
HOLA amigo,

I would say that the evidence points to a site outside what we call the Superstition mountains today, but that the area known as the Superstition mountains in the past (including the time of Waltz) was considerably larger, especially north, NE and east. One might point to some bits of "clues" that point to a site outside the Superstitions too, such as:

Waltz made his home in what is today Phoenix, not closer to the mountains which he certainly could have done.

Waltz made a number of trips to buy supplies etc to Florence, which is also not near the Superstition mountains,