My Theory on PEG LEGS BLACK GOLD NUGGETS

Mikeysgold

Mar 2, 2011
I am new to this thread so hello everyone and I appreciate all the contributions from everyone.

My two cents worth here...

First I want to say that I do believe in the Peg Leg Gold. Every legend has some basis in fact. The reality though is with time, stories become misinterpreted, misunderstood, twisted and sometimes darkened... So, it is what it is.

How many times has someone said turn left when you know they meant to say turn right? East when they meant west.

Also, when you are tired, thirsty and lost, the desert can mess with your mind. Panic can set in and impair your judgment. Peg leg may not have been where he thought he was before the sandstorm. He could have just as easily veered south (of the trail, instead of north of the trail) of where he thought he was either before of after the storm. Experienced pilots have gone through thick fog and thinking they were ascending when actually they were descending.

When I was 15 and deer hunting with my dad out of Wilson Arizona in the winter with snow everywhere and no sun. I can tell you in an instant, I became separated from my dad and got lost to where I couldn't tell north from south and was lost for several hours. I have seen sand storms block out the sun and visibility becomes zero.

My experience is that if you don't know where you are, it is difficult at best to know where you are going. Peg Leg could have gone north towards the Salton or south of Carrizo into Mexico.

Another thought... Its one thing to know there is $1 million worth gold dust in a large mound of dirt, but quite another thing to see an actual 1 ounce solid gold nugget. That can also mess with your mind. When peg Leg found out years later that he discovered a treasure, he may have gone slightly insane of the thought of struggling all those prior years with a nice treasure right in his pocket. That may have altered his memory of the location.